
      ATLANTIC COUNTY DIVISION OF PARKS AND RECREATION           
LAKE LENAPE 

Low Power Boat Application For Boats 9.9 HP or Less 

Permit #  

 
 
 
COPIES OF THE FOLLOWING ARE NEEDED:   

• Valid Driver’s License 
• Boat Registration Card 
• Boating Safety Certificate 
• Vehicle Registration Card for Trailer 
• $5.00 Annual Fee (make checks payable to: Atlantic County Treasurer) 

Return completed & signed application in person or via mail to:  
Atlantic County Parks, Lake Lenape, 6303 Old Harding Hwy., Mays Landing, NJ, 08330 

Owner  Operator    

Address  Address  

City, State, Zip  City, State, Zip  

Cell Phone  Daytime Phone  

Date of Birth  Date of Birth  

Safety Course #  Safety Course #  

Drivers License #  Drivers License #  

License Exp. Date  License Exp. Date  

Type of Boat  Make  

Length  Horsepower  

Hull ID # (HIN)  Trailer Plate #  

Boat Reg. #  Reg. Exp. Date  

 

Owner Email  
- Emergency Contact Information – 

Name:  Number:  
    

I have read and agree to the terms and conditions on the back of this application. 
 
Signature of Applicant/Operator:             
 

- For Parks Use Only – 
 

Authorized By:  Temp. Exp. Date:  
Today’s Date:  Expiration Date:  
Receipt #:  Staff Initials:  

       



CONDITIONS FOR POWER BOATING ON LAKE LENAPE 
 

 

Last updated 2-17-2019 / KH 
 

 

1. Boats shall be a maximum of 20 feet in length.  Maximum mast height is 20 feet. 
2. Launching is permitted only at the designated sites. Boat ramp hours are posted at the Lake 

Lenape Ramp, 7:30 am till ½ hour after sunset. 
3. Boats not permitted to be docked as a registered Lake Lenape homeowner must be removed 

from the lake by one half hour after sunset. 
4. Boats with engines of 9.9 horsepower or less are registered as a low-power boat.   Boats 

with engines of 10 horsepower and above are registered as high-power boats. 
5. Permits may be obtained at the Lake Lenape Boat House office, 6303 Old Harding 

Highway, Mays Landing, between the hours of 7:30 am and 5:00 pm seven days a week (609-
625-8219). 

6. The power boat application expires at the end of each calendar year; a $5.00 processing 
fee is required.  Make checks payable to the Atlantic County Treasurer. 

7. All boats with motors must have a valid New Jersey Boat Registration. 
8. Any operator of a vessel that is motorized in anyway must have a valid Boating Safety 

Certificate issued by the State of New Jersey, Division of State Police Marine Services Bureau 
or a comparable certificate if not a resident of NJ to operate upon Lake Lenape. 

9. Operators of high-power boats shall demonstrate a driver’s license with a boat operator’s 
endorsement or a non-driver photo identif ication card with a boat  operator’s 
endorsement as required by New Jersey State Law. 

10. Power Boats over 9.9 HP must carry at least $500,000 of marine liability insurance. The 
certificate of insurance must show the certificate holder as “County of Atlantic, 1333 
Atlantic Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401”. 

11. Boat owners and operators agree to indemnify and hold harmless the County of Atlantic, 
its elected officials, agents, servants and claims, actions, expenses, judgments, subrogation, 
other expenses or liability by reason of any real or alleged injury to any person arising out of 
or incidental to use of any water craft on Lake Lenape. 

12. Maximum speed of any boat shall not exceed 40 MPH. 
13. No powerboat shall operate within 200 feet of any swimming area.  All boats shall operate 

to avoid danger and injury to all persons or manner of vessel, whether floating, mooring, 
anchored, or underway, to piers, wharves, bulkheads, or other waterfront construction, 
whether directly, or by the effect of the wave raised by the boat through its speed. 

14. No person shall operate any vessel in a reckless or negligent manner.  Boaters shall obey the 
directives of Park Rangers or authorized County representatives at all times. 

15. All vessels are subject to Coast Guard Rules of the Road, and must pay heed to all regulatory 
buoys. 

16. No person shall operate or permit another person to operate, a vessel while under the 
influence of drugs or alcohol. 

17. No swimming or diving from boats. 
18. Parasailing and operation of personal water craft (jet skis, etc.) is prohibited. 
19. Launching inflatables is prohibited, unless being towed behind a ski boat. 
20. Each boat is required by State law to possess all required safety equipment for vessels of that 

size classification, occupancy and intended use (example: skiing, fishing, rowing etc.) Each 
operator shall produce upon request of any enforcement official the equipment required. 

21. Keep 100 ft. from the fish ladder between March 1st and June 15th 
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